DON’T CALL IT A COME BACK…..The return of the Curvy Socialite

It’s been over six months since my last blog post.

Six months….Six LONG months.

Many of you have sent me many a private message asking if I was coming back.

Well….here I am.

I’m back.

I think unconsciously I needed a hiatus. Life was getting in the way (and so was stress) and because of that the things that I am passionate about (i.e. the blog) began taking a backseat to everything.

A good thing about being away from the Curvy Socialite was that I realized how much I missed writing and how much this blog has become a part of who I am. I kind of had a bit of separation anxiety– almost like a parent who has taken a long business trip away from their child.

I didn’t totally abandon everything with Curvy Socialite. I kept up on social media with regular Instagram and Facebook posts filled inspirational quotes, pop culture news, red carpet fashion and other random musings…as well as tweets about my favorite shows, about interesting reads I came across during my time away from CS and more.

The Curvy Socialite

Another thing I learned while “on leave”– and what may have prompted the hiatus in the first place– was how to put myself first. Between running a boutique PR firm, blogging and trying to be a good significant other, daughter, sister, and friend, I found myself spread super thin. There were major and minor crises that had to be handled, along with other fires that had to be put out. I soon found my role with many in my life morphing from a helper to the new dual role of doer/fixer. But I can’t really blame anyone for that happening except myself. I had allowed myself to fall into a role of having others be too dependent on me. At the end of the day I had no time to do what I wanted or even needed to do for myself. I felt like the life was being sucked right out of me.

Now don’t get me wrong– I love my family, friends, and clients, but I wasn’t loving myself. And when that happens the world truly does start to fall apart around you. I wasn’t sleeping enough (trying to get everything done for everyone and then trying to cram a few hours in the evening to get my stuff done late at night) , or eating properly (again never enough time in the day) , and I was always sick (chronic bronchitis and  my thyroid issues lead to other issues). Something had to give because I was now no good to myself or those who needed/wanted my help.

It’s like what the flight attendants say before the flight takes off, ”put your oxygen mask on first THEN help the others around you.” It makes sense. How can you help someone else if you’re passed out from lack of air? So I found myself asking, how could I help everyone else if I wasn’t helping myself?

During these six months away, I have been regrouping and recouping. I began “cleaning house” in a variety of sectors in my life—getting rid of both the people and things that were holding me down. Sometimes it was a painful process (lost a few “friends” during this time) and other times it was a natural loss of dead weight that was keeping me from what I needed to do and what I needed to be in order to be at my best. I pretty much have been going through a mental “detox.”

I literally got this whole process going with a private one-on-one  ThetaHealing session.

Naturally you’re asking what is THETAHEALING?

ThetaHealing is a “mind/body technique that uses the energy that flows through all things to produce instantaneous and permanent change.” Sounds deep right? Well it is. I know you think it sounds like some new-age type of fad. But honestly speaking…it isn’t. Ok…it is kind of new in the sense that ThetaHealing itself was found in 1995. But the basic concept is something that is rooted in beliefs that are thousands of years old– the belief that we are all connected—mind body and universe.  Changes created by ThetaHealing result in physical, emotional and spiritual transformation.

Discussions like this can be a rather touchy subject (remember what your Mom always says…never discuss politics money and religion). But in order to understand where I am now, you have to understand where I have been. So let me put this out there…I am not here to convert you to anything or even convince you of anything but rather to share my experience with you. Also, this isn’t something that “interferes” with one’s belief systems.  In ThetaHealing,  the belief is you connect directly with the Creator (God, Allah, Yahweh, Jehovah, the Universe….) to co-create the change in your life by reestablishing the original “connection with our minds and bodies, one another and the Divine.”

A ThetaHealing session is a definitely a unique experience. For me it was a power opportunity to start the change I needed to create in my life. I was lucky enough to have a session with certified Master ThetaHealer (and one of the co-Founders of ThetaHealing NYC), Tara Greenway.

I thoroughly enjoyed my session with Tara (which I did virtually over the phone—yeah, like I said life was getting in the way of everything). Her personality and demeanor was everything I needed during that crazy point in my life. She was kind, patient, friendly—not intimidating in the slightest–  but most of all, she was genuine. I think that is naturally who she is as a person coupled with her experience over the years working with individuals with all kinds of issues (physical and emotional issues to those looking to escape the craziness of anxiety, depression and other pains).

My session (as is everyone’s session) was tailored to fit my needs so that I could achieve the best results for me. Because it is intense you have to mentally (be open minded) and physically prepare (in the sense you need to be well hydrated) as you truly get down to the nitty gritty about what you want to change in your life be it health, energy levels, emotional difficulties, grief, relationship issues, clearing obstacles, spiritual growth, manifesting greatness and more. For me, my session was the catalyst for what would come over the next few months. I learned a lot about myself and what I needed to focus on and why. Afterwards, I felt as if huge weights were lifted off my shoulders and I was given the tools needed to begin my detoxification.

So after 6 months….I’m still not done but I am moving into a better place.

But now it’s time to get back to business and reconnect with the world again.

Leave a Reply

