ODE TO THE JUMPSUIT (My Favorite Fashion Trend)

I have to thank my mother for unknowingly helping me decide on a name for my blog a few years back. She’d call me to chat and I would always be on my way to something or coming back from somewhere. She’d tease me and ask how my “life as a socialite?” was From there the idea behind the Curvy Socialite was born as I was always gallivanting all over the place at fashion shows, movie screenings, parties and more—most of these events are work related and therefore come with the territory.  My calendar, especially as Fashion Week draws near, can be absolutely jam-packed leaving little time to put much thought into what I am going to wear.  Hence my ode to my favorite “no fuss no muss” outfits — the jumpsuit.

To say I love jumpsuits would be the ultimate understatement.

I’ve been rocking them for nearly 15 years (or more). Those in my close circle will tell you I am always singing their praises. I have friends who live in dresses and talk about how easy life is when all you have to do is jump in and out of a one piece outfit. You can get the same feel with a jumpsuit. Just like a dress, you can “fancy it up” or make it more casual with accessories and shoes. I’ve made the same jumpsuit perfect for brunch with the girls or red carpet ready with my choice in shoes, handbags and jewelry. And with designers opting to create jumpsuits of heavier fabrications, they are quickly becoming a year round staple. Now that the fashion world finds them en vogue (again…jumpsuits never really fell out of favor with them being the outfit du jour in the 60s and 70s), everyone’s clamoring to score one or two (or a few) for their wardrobes.

Looking at what’s coming up for summer and pre-fall deliveries at some of the city’s retailers, I spy a few pieces I need in my closet. Here are my top favorites.

The 2-in-1 convertible jumpsuit from Amirah Creations.

Credit: J Morris Photos featuring model, Natasha Kolas
Credit: J Morris Photos featuring model, Natasha Kolas

 

Brooklyn-based Nailah Lymus, the design maven behind Amirah Creations, combines two of this season’s biggest trends (black & white and ethnic prints) to create this bespoke jumpsuit (seriously, you send her your measurements and she creates this amazing piece to fit you) which retails for $125. It converts from a halter jumpsuit to a high-waisted pant (another one of this season’s trends). You can reach out to her via email at amirahcreations01@gmail.com.

 

The ¾ Sleeve Jumpsuit by Ashtyn

Courtesy of Ashtyn

Latisha Daring, another incredible New York-based independent designer, gives a sexy new twist to a classic favorite. Retailing for $150, this beautiful jumpsuit in a cool, crisp summer white can be purchased via her website at www.ashtynonline.com.

 

The Cher (Oceana Collection) by Shanda Freeman

The Cher Jumpsuit from the Oceana Collection by Shanda Freeman as worn by model Keisa Hamilton
The Cher Jumpsuit from the Oceana Collection by Shanda Freeman as worn by model Keisa Hamilton 

New York has a bevy of remarkable design talent catering to all shapes and sizes. Shanda Freeman, the Harlem-based “love” expert turned designer, has created a retro jumpsuit with a twist with this sexy piece called the Cher. Inspired by her love for the 70s, this jumpsuit (available in sizes M- 2X) retails for $240 and can be purchased via her website www.shandafreeman.com.

 

Montmartre Jumpsuit by Von Vonni

Courtesy of Von Vonni

Another nod to a retro design but with a very European aesthetic, Von Vonni has created a super chic piece called the Montmartre Jumpsuit.  This kimono-sleeved jumpsuit adds sex appeal with a cinched waist and deep –back.  Originally priced at $250, this jumpsuit can be purchased via their website at www.vonvonni.com.

 

The Peggy Jumpsuit by Tocca

Courtesy of Tocca
Courtesy of Tocca

Born on the picturesque island of St. Lucia, Tocca is a well known apparel and beauty brand currently helmed by design visionary Emma Fletcher.  From their current collection for spring 2013 comes the adorable Peggy Jumpsuit. Coming in a black/grey totem print with a deep v-neck, this jumpsuit retails originally for $460 and can be purchased via their website at www.tocca.com.

 

Oh Jumpsuit, how I love thee….and now my readers do too!

One thought on “ODE TO THE JUMPSUIT (My Favorite Fashion Trend)

Leave a Reply

